What is the IB Learner Profile?


 

At the heart of the IB is the “learner profile”, a long- term, holistic vision of education that underpins all three programs and puts the student at the center of their education.  After viewing the IB Learner profile video, rate how you think you measure up to the IB learner attributes here

Blog Response Assignment 1

Write a 350 word response discussing how you rate yourself within the IB Learner Profile guidelines. Which of these traits are your strengths? Give specific examples to show how you excel in these areas.  Also, point out the areas that are your weaknesses.  Discuss what you can do to overcome them.  Your response should begin with an introductory sentence, and be free of grammatical errors.

One response

  1. I’ve never been completely able to analyze myself. I think that is because people get to know themselves as they grow up. One day you think you are good at something but then learn that you are not when you actually face a situation. I believe high school is where most people find themselves: who they are and how they act, react to everything around them. I am not perfect and really nobody is so the important thing is to find out our strengths and improve them even more. The only thing I am very sure is my strength is being honest and loyal. I always tell the truth and try to be fair about everything and everyone. I guess that is why I was the chairman in debate. Or it could be because I am balanced. People always come to me when they have a problem because I am balanced and usually know what needs to be done. I believe that I am also very open-minded. I am open to new cultures, languages and communication in any form. This may have something to do with me being born in Germany. German was the second language I learned and I was only 3 years old. I like traveling because discovering the world and the people that live in it is my dream. I care about people, nature and animals. I like to know about as much as possible; from philosophy to the beginning of our world. I like to read about diverse topics and discuss with people. Sometimes I can find myself thinking about the universe, the first people on Earth or about an author who wrote the book I am reading. For example, the book Chariots of the Gods had me wandering about other species being on Earth other than homosapiens. I get excited about my favorite topics and love to hear the ideas of other people. I believe media is the best way of interacting. I love singing and music is the best thing you can share with someone. Telling a story without speaking; music has that power. Unfortunately I am not very good at being reflective. I can know and analyze many people around me except myself. I am very bad at taking risks but I guess taking IB was a great risk for me. I can learn how to be braver and more outgoing. The presentations are going to improve my skills very much. I hope that this IB program will help me overcome my weaknesses and improve my strengths.

Leave a Reply

